Image default

Dar’s close aid assigned an important post

ISLAMABAD (our reporter):- The Federal Government led by Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif has appointed Ashraf Mahmood Wathra as the new Chairman of the Board of Directors National Bank of Pakistan (NBP).

Ashraf Wathra was an important member of economic team led by Ishaq Dar during the tenure of former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif Government. He was appointed as the Governor State Bank on 29 April 2014 for three years. he successfully completed his three tenure and retired 28 April 2017.

According to an official notification, the government has appointed Chairman/Directors on the Board of Directors of NBP for a term of three years subject to clearance of Fit & Proper Test criteria of the State Bank of Pakistan (SBP).

The appointments are as follows:

1Ashraf Mahmood WathraChairman
2Nasim AhmadDirector
3Ali SyedDirector

In addition to the above, the Additional Finance Secretary (IF), Finance Division shall be the Ex-Officio Director on the NBP Board, according to the notification.

It is pertinent to mention here that Special Assistants to Prime Minister Tariq Bajwa and Tariq Pasha were also important members of former economic team of Ishaq Dar. Tariq Bajwa was Chairman FBR, Secretary Finance and Governor State Bank and Tariq Pasha was Chairman FBR during the last tenure of Ishaq Dar as Finance Minister.

Related posts

FBR digs out money laundering scam worth billions in import of solar panels


Import on defer payment for 360 days on card


IMF mission issues statement after conclusion of 9th Review Meeting


Leave a Comment